Home | Contact | Events | Churches | General Assembly | Giving

General Assembly of the Church of God in Michigan

Business Committee
2023 Ratifications

Dear General Assembly Member,

As the Business Committee of the General Assembly each year, we are responsible to provide a ballot to the Assembly for ratification. Each year we seek your help in finding quality leaders to guide the ministries of our State. The quality and effectiveness of any ministry is directly related to the abilities of its leaders. We are seeking gifted and passionate leaders to continue the important work of our cooperative ministries.

The General Assembly of the Church of God in Michigan is a representative body made up of lay and clergy members from each of our congregations. Each year during our General Assembly, we ratify a Vice-Chair of the Assembly, and ratify leaders to each of the following: Church Health Ministry, Credentials Ministry, Pastoral Health Ministry, Youth Ministry, Audit Committee, Business Committee, Personnel Committee, and Program Committee. A brief job description for each of these ministries is online at micog.org/ministries. We would like recommendations of both lay and clergy persons who fit these positions. Please include a sentence or two explaining why you are recommending them. Be sure to include their name, address, phone, and email information. You may also recommend yourself, if you feel called and gifted for any of these positions. We are always looking for new leaders interested in serving beyond their local environment. You may respond to this request by mail or email. We will contact those you recommend to see if they are willing to be added to our pool of leadership candidates.

We meet May 19, 2022, to work on the nominations and need your recommendations to us no later than May 8, 2022. Thank you for your immediate attention to this vital task. If you have any questions feel free to contact the Service Center at (800) 369-5890 or email micog@micog.org.

Please note your 2021 General Assembly Minutes are included with the 'downloads and links.'

Thank you again for helping us serve the Church across Michigan!

Blessings to you as you endeavor to serve the Lord,
Rev. Mark K. Richardson, State Pastor

Expiring Terms

Board of Directors

Chair: Sheila Granger; Tad Mellish; Vice-Chair; Lucius Hayward, 2022-2; Wendell Thompson, 2002-1

Church Health Ministry

Thomas Bader, 2022-1; Thomas Whitesel, 2022-2

Credentials Ministry

Joshua Brandt, 2022-0; Chariese Matthews, 2022-1

Pastoral Health Ministry

John Mattern, 2022-2

Youth Ministry

Trevor Moody, 2022-0; Brian Spitters, 2022-1; Dante Rodriguez, 2023-1 (resigned)

Audit Committee

Vance Kupisch, 2022-1; Jaela McQuillan, 2022-1; Christine Walker, 2022-2

Business Committee

Alruthus Dulin, 2022-2

Personnel Committee

Kimme Nuckles, 2022-2; Mike Stone, 2022-2

Board of Directors

Sheila Granger, Chair; Tad Mellish, Vice-Chair; Jeff Salisbury, Secretary, Tom Bader, Joshua Brandt, Jeff Eckman, Cathy Ganus, Lucius Hayward, Doug Irving, Connie Mashue, Wendell Thompson, Mark Richardson, David Aukerman, ex-officio.

Assembly Ministries

Church Health Ministry

Tom Bader, Greg Capsel, Jaime Cervantes, Matthew Chesney, Emily Clark, Rhyan Glezman, Tom Whitesel, Jerry Lyon, Church Health Minister, Mark Richardson, staff.

Credentials Ministry

Joshua Brandt, Chair; Carl Baker, Terry Bernard, Robert Confer, Michael Harris, Chariese Matthews, Ronald Nuckles, Mark Richardson, staff.

Pastoral Health Ministry

Jeffrey Eckman, Chair; Portia Davis-Mann, Mary Lockley, Carron Odokara, John Mattern, Suhailah Talibah, Sheryl Thompson, Jerry Lyon, Church Health Minister, and Mark Richardson, staff.

Youth Ministry

Emily Potter, Chair; John Davis, Jesse Hargett, Trevor Moody, Brian Spitters, Mark Staton II, Ex-officio: Ken Forsman, Michigan Singers; Kelley Dendel, Warner Camp; Ben Kreider, MSLI; Connie Graham, Director of Youth Ministry, Mark Richardson, staff.

Assembly Committees

Audit Committee

Melody Capsel, Vance Kupisch, Jaela McQuillan, Paul Myers, Chris Walker, Mark Richardson, staff

Business Committee

Alruthus Dulin, Theron Kersey, Michael Potter, Matthew Stone, Robert Tramel, Mark Richardson, staff.

Personnel Committee

William Jones, Kimme Nuckles, Mike Stone, Jerome Willis, Mark Richardson, staff.

Program Committee

Tad Mellish, Chair; Dwight Fontenot, Nathanael Lyon, David Rails, Erin Taylor, Mark Richardson, staff.

Task Forces

360 Ministry Conference Task Force

Tom Bader, Rhyan Glezman, Debb Lyon, Jerry Lyon, Sharon Richardson, Becky Rodriguez, Mark Richardson, staff.

Michigan Student Leadership Institute (MSLI)

Ben Kreider, Chair; Jim Sirks, Kevin Tippin, Connie Graham, Director of Youth Ministry, Mark Richardson, staff.

Youth Convention Task Force

Tori Eckman, Adam Rentas, Jenny Salas, Jim Sirks, Brian Spitters, Jessica Staton, Connie Graham, Director of Youth Ministry, Mark Richardson, staff.

Youth Winter Retreat Task Force

Tony Casey, Krystal Kotesky, Mike Mazurek, Alex Merren, and Connie Graham, Director of Youth Ministry, Mark Richardson, staff

Downloads and Links

2021 General Assembly Minutes

Leadership Directory

Ministries and Committees

General Assembly Bylaws

Job Descriptions

2022 Board of Directors Executive Committee

Sheila Granger

Minister Sheila Granger, Chair
Community Church of God, Ypsilanti

Tad Mellish

Rev. Tad Mellish, Vice-Chair
NorthernLight Church of God, Cadillac

Jeff Salisbury, Secretary

View this page in your browser

© 2002-2022 General Assembly of the Church of God in Michigan, 4212 Alpha Street, Lansing, Michigan 48910